Panini with Caramelized Onions-Pears Jam and Brie + Gorgonzola Cheese

God bless the person who invented ‘sandwich’ for all of us. I am huge sandwich fan myself, so I always experiment different food pairings in my recipes. Hot Panini, cold sub, grilled burger anything and everything is good, especially when I am not in good mood. It just brightens me up.

Moreover, I love sweet and savory combination of fruit and cheese in my salads and sandwich. Well, for hot sandwich craving I tried this recipe with baby spinach, brie + Gorgonzola cheese, pears, onions, balsamic vinegar, and rosemary.

Ingredients:

Any Bread (I used sunflower seeds & whole grain bread from Fresh Market)

Fresh baby spinach (for some greens)

Brie Cheese (thinly sliced)

Gorgonzola blue cheese (crumbled)

Jam Components:

1 teaspoon of butter or olive oil

2 Fresh Pears (thinly sliced)

1 onion (thinly sliced)

Fresh Rosemary (chopped)

2 tablespoons of balsamic vinegar

Salt & Pepper to taste

Method:

For Jam

Heat up butter or oil. Add onions and cook them on low heat for almost 20 minutes until they are soft, lightly golden, and translucent. Add salt and pepper. 

Now at this point on low-medium heat add sliced pears, balsamic vinegar, and rosemary. Cook all for 15 more minutes until all turns lightly brown color.

Your sweet jam is ready. Cool it down a bit.

Sandwich Assembly

Heat up your Panini grill. (I use my Calphalon non-stick Panini press)

1st bread slice, brie cheese, sprinkle Gorgonzola cheese, jam, spinach leaves, brie cheese, 2nd bread.

Now with little butter make Panini sandwich.

Serve hot.

_MG_8655_MG_8656 _MG_8658_MG_8665

Leave a Reply

