Mango & Chia Seeds Smoothie

I loved chia seeds instantly when I heard about its benefits on Dr. Oz show. That’s one of my all time favorite shows, as you can learn about different products on it. Anyways, Chia seeds are full of fiber and protein.

It is similar to basil seeds, which we used in Indian falooda (a frozen drink). I guess they are cousins of the same family.

I recently purchased them from trader joes. They were extremely expensive, but I had to buy them anyways. I have found better deal in Costco for chia seeds. Chia seeds can be used in smoothies, milk cereals, puddings, salad dressings, and also in muffins. Just like we use wheat germ or flax seeds. They plump up in 2-3 hours after soaking in the pudding or smoothies.

So anyways, let me share my first experiment with them.

I made a frozen smoothie by using trader joes’ frozen mangoes this time, but you can chose any fruits you like. Just freeze the fruits in the freezer for few hours. (Example: pineapples, mangoes, bananas, coconut milk… Combos)

Ingredients:
1 and 1/2 cups of Frozen mangoes
1 cup of yogurt (any regular or Greek)
1/4 cup of agave nectar (or any sweetener)
2 cups of cold water (or coconut milk + water)
1/4 cups of chia seeds

Method:
I blended mangoes with yogurt, agave, and water in my Blendtec (smoothie setting).

Now take it out in a container. Add chia seeds and incorporate them well in the smoothie.

I refrigerated it overnight. You can keep it for 3-4 hours

20130303-104915.jpg

20130303-104937.jpg

20130303-105819.jpg

Leave a Reply

